Welcome to the Wiki of the seminar ''Information Extraction'' in the winter semester 2013 / 2014

This seminar is over, aus und vorbei.

This seminar was given by Elmar Haußmann and Sabine Storandt, from the chair of Prof. Dr. Hannah Bast (who will also attend the sessions). The seminar will take place every Wednesday, 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm ct., in the seminar room 00-007 in building 106. There will be no session on Wednesday, December 25, 2013, on Wednesday, January 1, 2014 (christmas break) and on Wednesday, October 30, 2013.

Information Extraction is the task of extracting (structured) information from natural language text. We will cover interesting topics in this area with a focus on current state-of-the-art systems for Open Information Extraction. We will also cover the NLP background required for understanding.

Topics

The topics and dates were assigned and roughly explained in the first sessions.

We are no longer assigning new topics.

Sessions

Session

Date

Topic

1

Wednesday October 23, 2013

Introduction and Topic Assignment Slides (Introduction + Organization, Topics), Video Recording, YouTube

Wednesday October 30, 2013

NO SESSION

2

Wednesday November 6, 2013

Machine Learning Introduction (Robin Schirrmeister) Slides, Video Recording, YouTube

Wednesday November 13, 2013

NO SESSION

3

Wednesday November 20, 2013

NLP Basics (Sven Lieber) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

4

Wednesday November 27, 2013

TextRunner (Haixing Gu) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

WOE (OpenIE using Wikipedia) (Soraya Nikousokhan) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

5

Wednesday December 4, 2013

Reverb (Patrick Notz) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

OLLIE (Max Lotstein) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

6

Wednesday December 11, 2013

NELL (Lukas Veneziano) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

PATTY (Ezequiel Primo)Slides, Video Recording YouTube

7

Wednesday December 18, 2013

Distant supervision for RE (Toby Peoples) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

RE With Matrix Factorization (José Licón) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

Wednesday January 8, 2014

NO SESSION

8

Wednesday January 15, 2013

TREC Question Answering Track (Jennifer Nist) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

Lymba (QA System) (Fabian Schillinger) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

9

Wednesday January 22, 2013

Robust QA over the Web of Linked Data (QA System) (Simon Skilevic) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

Watson (QA System) (Tobias Paxian) Slides, Video Recording YouTube

Attention: Due to illness the dates might be postponed by a week or two. We will inform you about changes via email over the Daphne system (so please register), and update this webpage as soon as possible if any shifts occur.

AD Teaching Wiki: InformationExtractionWS1314 (last edited 2014-01-24 11:19:34 by ElmarHaussmann)